Cannibalism within Athletic Training

I have a different tone to this post.  Cannibalism.  The eating of the flesh by another animal of its own kind.  You may find it odd and off-putting that I am discussing such a grotesque topic.  However, cannibalism exists in our athletic training membership.

My objective in this post is not to pit AT’s in the traditional setting against those in a non-traditional setting, though there seems to be a theme.  There is endless talk, both productive and rash, on social media regarding appropriate salaries for AT’s, and the jump to an “entry-evel” Master’s program. It is great discussion, and I am very happy that there are so many young professionals involving themselves in these discussions.  However, I have witnessed the cannibalistic nature of AT’s both personally, and second-hand.  I believe it coincides with how some folks interpret the jump to a professional Master’s degree as a personal attack on their own experience and education, instead of accepting our future, and ensuring this change is performed for the benefit and advancement of our profession as a whole.

I recently read a blog discussing the White Paper that the NATA published.  I respect this author very much.  I follow the Twitter feed of this author. This blog was discussing how the author personally felt regarding certain statements in the White Paper.  It was a great post. One statement from the White Paper read, “Additionally the expansion of athletic training practice beyond its traditional roots has broadened our role in the healthcare community“.  The response was disheartening, and in my opinion echoed a mindset too common in our membership. The concern (expanding beyond our traditional roots) was of AT’s expanding outside of the “traditional” setting.

I find this disheartening for several reasons.  We want out profession to grow.  Every day social media is riddled with complaints about poor salary and pay for AT’s, and how we are worth more than what we are being paid.  Non-traditional roles have developed because AT’s have discovered their skill-set is extraordinarily dynamic and unique, and can be applied in a multitude of settings.  What I have witnessed, and personally experienced, is that some AT’s attempt to discredit, and often times manipulate a person’s desire to develop and grow professionally within a different setting. The repercussions of these actions (of the offended) result in AT’s being vilified as they ump to that setting. This often results in a decrease in salary, and decrease in perceived value.  Ultimately we seem to be our own worst enemy.  We are cannibalistic.  Our own membership reduces our value.

I have worked my ass off to get to where I am now.  Every athletic trainer works his or her ass off.  I work my ass off to show my value and I would never settle for a job that doesn’t pay me what I feel I am worth, and I support that with data. With numbers.  With dollar figures.  I have been a victim of this cannibalistic mindset.  For example, I completed my undergraduate athletic training degree, and then completed a post-professional Master’s in athletic training because I wanted to become a better clinician.  I then spent an extra year completing a residency program that focused on how to effectively function in a physician practice as a “physician extender”. In no way did I feel I was better than other AT”s when I finished this program. In no way did I attempt to display arrogance after finishing this residency.  I had a desire to work collaboratively with Physicians and Physical Therapists to improve the experience and outcomes of our patients.  Unfortunately, I was met with resounding disapproval from other AT’s.  They thought my job was “easy”, and that even though I had completed three years of post-professional education and clinical experience specific to athletic training, that I should not be paid a higher salary.  My own colleagues and our own membership blunted my efforts and desires to grow professionally.  Why?  Perhaps because they were envious of the potential income I would gain.  In other words, my flesh was eaten and devalued by others of my kind.  And you ask why our profession struggles with advancement, increased pay, and respect in the healthcare community?  I believe that is the answer.  Our own membership devalues athletic trainers.

I will be very candid.  I have known many AT’s who have started practicing right after their undergraduate studies.  These AT’s are prepared and qualified.  However, often times they become defensive and unprofessional when their decisions are challenged, and act as if they know more than an orthopedic physician that has been practicing for years.  Then those opinions are expressed publicly, often times via social media.  And people wonder why we are not respected by other healthcare professionals?

This is why I believe a professional graduate degree is necessary.  Do I agree an “entry-level” Master’s degree is the answer?  No.  I have expressed my opinion regarding this in a previous post.  But I believe education is empowerment, and it is up to that individual if his or her clinical skills develop appropriately.

We tear down an AT who has the opportunity to grow professionally and make more money outside of the “traditional” setting.  I have been told that I am no longer an AT because I work in the clinic seeing patients, and help surgeon in the Operating Room. Why?  Is it because I’m not slinging tape and filling water bottles?  Or providing emergency care?  The last time I checked, the definition of Athletic Trainer was:

“health care professionals who collaborate with physicians. The services provided by ATs comprise prevention, emergency care, clinical diagnosis, therapeutic intervention and rehabilitation of injuries and medical conditions. ATs work under the direction of physicians, as prescribed by state licensure statutes. definition of an athletic trainer.”

We are versatile.  We are dynamic.  We could potentially become an integral part of our changing healthcare system.  The Accountable Care model of healthcare delivery that puts so much focus on preventative medicine.  That is what we are.  We are experts in preventative medicine.  We have the potential to fill such an enormous gap in healthcare.  But our membership avoids it and discredits that growth because then we “would not be athletic trainers”.  I disagree.

So please, consider your thoughts and actions to other AT’s when they have the opportunity to grow professionally.  Our decision to move to an “Entry-level” Master’s, or try to develop professionally, is not a personal attack on others’ own education and clinical experience.  It is not a personal attack on others’ abilities as an AT.  It is an opportunity to expose more people to the positive qualities, attributes, and skills as athletic trainers.  It is an opportunity to advance our profession.

Think about it.

I have said my piece.  Think of it what you will, and I hope it facilitates discussion and thought.

Luke


7 thoughts on “Cannibalism within Athletic Training

  1. Very well said! I have always worked in the non-traditional setting. I worked 7 years as a physician extender and am now in the industrial setting. I have asked about changing our state practice act to increase the opportunities in the non-traditional setting and was discouraged by the response I received. We are cutting our own throats by not encouraging the expansion of our settings within the medical community and perpetuating the stereotype that’s comes with the traditional setting. While working as a physician extender I also covered our local high school for 3 years. I have the utmost respect for our peers in that setting. Its a tough, but rewarding job! It often goes under compensated, under respected, and under estimated in the skills it takes to have a successful program. Maybe, just maybe, if we increase our education to a Master’s and residency program (although I have gone far with just my Bachelor’s) we can then increase our ability to bill for services and finally gain the respect and salaries we all deserve.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Luke, great discussion piece. As an AT in the “non traditional” role I have a simplified approach to the terminology that I have been trying to push for the last several years. We as ATs are educated under an overall premise, prevention. If we are educated correctly we are NOT educated to be Highschool ATs or College ATs but ATs that are employed to provided medical services as an Allied Health Care Professional who’s primary focus is PREVENTION. Ultimately, if we are doing our job 100% perfect we would never have to provide acute emergency care. However, mistakes happen nobody is perfect and injuries happen no matter what we do, so we have to be educated and maintain the duration in acute level care. We need to stop thinking setting (traditional vs non) and start thinking an AT is truly the only professional who’s focus prevention who is employed in many settings.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Very well written Luke, I am fortunate to have stumbled across your blog. I completely agree that we should embrace new avenues in which we can help people with our unique skill set. We should be happy for and praise a peer who is able to utilize our education (no matter the degree) and be compensated appropriately regardless of the setting. Experiencing cannibalistic like behavior and disapproval from fellow athletic trainers regarding your well-deserved success as a physician extender is without question frustrating. Their feelings most likely reflect those individuals and not the consensus of our versatile and dynamic collective cohort.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Unfortunately I experienced this while at our national convention last week, first, when a friend and fellow AT decided to make her stance on the situation well known. I work outside the traditional setting, and for a time block there weren’t any sessions that appealed to me. I simply stated that there wasn’t anything in that time block that was of interest and I was planning to walk through the expo hall. My statement was met with a bit of a scoff as I was told that wouldn’t be the case if I hadn’t decided to “stop being an athletic trainer”. It saddened me to feel like I was being ousted by my own colleagues simply being of my setting. Secondly, I was in a group conversation with some former classmates when one, who works in the industrial setting, claimed that she was glad she obtained a post-professional degree and was working outside the traditional setting because others “just aren’t as qualified as she and her coworkers are”.

    It seems no matter what your background/current situation is these days, someone is always competing against someone else. With this mentality I completely agree with you that we are only hindering our profession, and that is a saddening and maddening realization. Something needs to change if we are truly interested in furthering our credibility and professionalism.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is very unfortunate. However, it is very true. I have witnessed it on both sides. Such a poor mentality to have, and case-in-point for my argument of cannibalism within our profession being our worst enemy. When AT’s discredit the efforts of other AT’s, how will we ever earn the respect of other healthcare professionals or administration?

      Like

Leave a comment